

# **Duval County Public Schools**

# November 16, 2010, Organizational Meeting

Ms. Betty Burney, Vice Chairman

Mr. Tommy Hazouri Ms. Martha Barrett

Mr. W. C. Gentry, Chairman

Ms. Becki Couch Mr. Fred "Fel" Lee Ms. Paula D. Wright

Mr. Ed Pratt-Dannals, Superintendent

ATTENDANCE AT THIS ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING of the Duval County School Board with Mr. Ed Pratt-Dannals, Superintendent of Schools, Mr. W. C. Gentry, Board Chairman, Ms. Betty Burney, Vice Chair and Board Members: Ms. Martha Barrett, Ms. Becki Couch, Mr. Tommy Hazouri, Mr. Fred "Fel" Lee and Ms. Paula D. Wright, present.

Call Meeting to Order

## 1. CALL MEETING TO ORDER

Minutes: The Chairman called the Organizational meeting to order at 5:07 p.m.

## 2. APPROVAL OF THE NOVEMBER 16, 2010, AGENDA

Minutes:

Approval of the November 16, 2010 Agenda

Vote: PASS

Motion: Betty Burney Second: Martha Barrett Martha Barrett - Aye Betty Burney - Aye Becki Couch - Aye W. C. Gentry - Aye Tommy Hazouri - Aye Fred "Fel" Lee - Aye Paula Wright - Aye

## Invocation

# **INVOCATION**

Minutes:

Reverend Marvin Zanders St. Paul AME Church

Pledge of Allegiance

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

**Board Members'** 

# 1. SWEARING IN CEREMONY

#### Minutes:

District 2 - Mr. Fred "Fel" Lee was sworn in by Pastor Ben Wallis, First Baptist Church, Jacksonville Beach.

District 4 - Ms. Paula D. Wright was sworn in by Reverend George A. Price, St. Matthew Baptist Church.

District 6 - Ms. Becki Couch was sworn in by Pastor Jay Stuckey, Macedonia Baptist Church.

## 2. ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN

#### Minutes:

Mr. Tommy Hazouri nominated Mr. W. C. Gentry for Chairman with no other nominations. Mr. Gentry was unanimously elected Chairman of the Board for the 2010-2011 year.

Motion: Tommy Hazouri

Martha Barrett - Aye Betty Burney - Aye Becki Couch - Aye W. C. Gentry - Aye Tommy Hazouri - Aye Fel Lee - Aye Paula Wright - Aye

## 3. ELECTION OF VICE-CHAIRMAN

#### Minutes:

Ms. Martha Barrett nominated Ms. Betty Burney for Vice Chairman with no other nominations. Ms. Burney was unanimously elected as Vice Chairman of the Board for the 2010-2011 year.

Motion: Martha Barrett

Martha Barrett - Aye Betty Burney - Aye Becki Couch - Aye W. C. Gentry - Aye Tommy Hazouri - Aye Fel Lee - Aye Paula Wright - Aye

#### 4. OATH OF OFFICE

#### Minutes:

The Oath of Office was administered to Mr. Gentry by City Councilman President Jack Webb.

The Oath of Office was administered to Ms. Burney by Reverend Marvin Zanders.

## 5. ESTABLISH TIME, PLACE, AND DATE OF REGULAR MEETINGS

#### Minutes:

That the Duval County Scool Board conduct their regular meetings on the first Tuesday of each month at 6:00 p.m., in the first floor Board Room of the Administration Building, 1701 Prudential Drive, with the following exceptions:

January 11, 2011 July 12, 2011 December 13, 2011

Motion: Martha Barrett Second: Tommy Hazouri

Martha Barrett - Aye Betty Burney - Aye Becki Couch - Aye W. C. Gentry - Aye Tommy Hazouri - Aye Fel Lee - Aye Paula Wright - Aye

For The Record

FOR THE RECORD

Minutes:	
No items for the record.	
Adjournment	
<u>ADJOURNMENT</u>	
Minutes:	
The Organizational meeting adjourned	at 5:35 p.m.
Isd	
Superintendent C	hairman